KCETLink in Partnership with 'Writers Bloc' Presents: Sex & The Citadel: A Conversation with Shereen El Feki

Author Shereen El Feki on Sex in a Changing Arab World


Comedian Omar Elba


Presented exclusively on KCET and Link TV, the program

captures the Writers Bloc event at the Silent Movie Theatre with author and journalist Shereen El Feki and comedian

Omar Elba to discuss her new book "Sex and the Citadel: Intimacy in the

Changing Arab World" detailing sexual behavior and attitudes in the Arab world.


BURBANK, CALIF. - April 3, 2013 - As traditional attitudes and cultural

norms begin to shift in the Arab world, it is no surprise that sex and

sexuality are at the forefront of the conversation.  During a recent Writers

event at the Silent Movie Theatre in Los

Angeles, Cairo-based author and journalist Shereen El

and Egyptian-American comedian Omar Elba participated in a

lively discussion about El Feki's new book, "Sex and the Citadel: Intimacy in

the Changing Arab World." KCETLink

produced the taped live event as a special, which premieres on KCET on April 11

at 9 p.m. and on Link TV on April 17 at 7 p.m. EST / 4 p.m. PST on DirecTV and

DISH Networks.


Engaging and oftentimes, humorous, the conversation between El Feki and

Elba focuses on social changes in Islamic Life and the need for a sexual

re-evaluation within the Arab world. El Feki speaks to the expansion of the

"citadel," which she uses as a metaphor to describe the only acceptable place

for sex - marriage. The citadel, however, still dismisses other cultural shifts

taking place in some Arab countries as taboo including, homosexuality, single,

career women, unwed mothers and the use of contraception.


Elba's smart, witty questions and comedic timing is an extra bonus to the

fascinating discussion, which sometimes juxtaposes "old world" conservative

viewpoints against liberal, younger attitudes on sex and sexuality.  


"We're pleased to share this engaging conversation to

both local and national audiences," said Bohdan Zachary, Vice President,

Broadcast, Syndication & Production for newly formed KCETLink. "Writers

Bloc continues to feature dynamic personalities that appeal to our diverse

viewership. We're excited to support an organization that shares our vision of

informing and inspiring the public through enlightening, transformative



The third production of the new series, KCETLink Presents, KCETLink

continues to offer enlightening and unique specials to audiences on KCET and

Link TV, co-produced with acclaimed organizations such as L.A. based Writers

, a nonprofit literary series. Previous KCETLink

productions included Eva Longoria and

Justice Sonia Sotomayor; and Sony Pictures CEO Michael Lynton and Facebook COO

Sheryl Sandberg.


The executive producer for KCETLink Presents is Bohdan Zachary and

this episode was co-produced by Writers Bloc founder Andrea Grossman.


KCET airdates (Southern California):

Wednesday, April 17 at Midnight

Link TV airdates (Nationally on DISH Network and DirecTV):

Thursday, April 18 at 6:30 a.m. EST / 3:30 a.m. PST

Friday, April 19 at Noon EST/ 9 a.m. PST

Friday, April19 at 10:30 p.m. EST / 7:30 p.m. PST

Saturday, April 20 at 3 a.m. EST / Midnight PST

Sunday, April 21 at 2 p.m. EST/ 11 a.m. PST



KCETLink is the new national independent public

transmedia organization formed by the merger between KCET and Link Media.  A viewer-supported 501c(3) organization, its

content is distributed nationally via satellite on DirecTV and DISH Networks,

in Southern and Central California via broadcast, as well as through various

digital delivery systems.  KCET and Link

TV are services of KCETLink. For additional information about KCETLink

productions, web-exclusive content, programming schedules and events, please

visit kcet.org or linktv.org.



Writers Bloc (writersblocpresents.com) is a nonprofit literary series, now in its 17th season,

dedicated to bringing to Los Angeles our favorite writers, artists and critics

who have made a significant impact on our cultural landscape. Andrea Grossman

is the founder and executive producer.



Shereen El Feki is based in Cairo, where she works on

issues related to health and social welfare in the Arab region. Half-Egyptian,

half-Welsh, Shereen was brought up in Canada. She started her professional life

in medical science, with a PhD in molecular immunology from the University of

Cambridge, and later worked as Healthcare Correspondent at The Economist


In recent years, Shereen has re-oriented her career

towards the Arab world. While she has worked in regional media, as a presenter

with the Al Jazeera Network, and continues to write on social issues in the

Arab world, her passion lies in the many projects in which she is involved

which aim to better understand, and surmount, the social challenges facing

Arabs, particularly young people.


Omar Elba is an Egyptian-born actor/comic living in Los

Angeles, Calif. Within a few months of doing stand-up, Omar has taken the

comedy world by storm and has received international recognition from producers

and seasoned comics alike. His accolades include a spot on SHOWTIME's 'Legally

Brown,' which premiered May 2011, and participation in comedy festivals and

shows all over the world. Some of his credits include shows in New York, Texas,

the Middle East, and in his home state of California. Having lived in Egypt,

Europe and the U.S.A., his material appeals to a wide variety of audiences. His

experiences and interactions with people from all over the globe, from the

street vendors of Cairo to the gun-totin' cowboys of Texas, have given Omar the

unique insight of finding humor in all types of crazy this world has to offer!

His ability to mimic voices and mannerisms brings these characters to life in

hilarious impressions.