Link TV Celebrates the UN's International Day of the Girl Child with Special Programming on Friday, October 11

San Francisco,

- Oct. 1, 2013 - In

honor of International Day of the Girl Child, a UN observance that promotes

girls' rights and highlights gender inequalities, Link TV will air a special

three-hour block of inspiring documentaries and shorts on Friday, October 11

starting at 11 a.m. PST / 2 p.m. EST. 

The programming block will repeat at 7 p.m. PST/ 10 p.m. EST.

With poignant themes ranging from education to economic

empowerment, each film, also streaming
online, will showcase the trials and triumphs of girls from

around the world.


To commemorate the International Day of the Girl Child,

Link TV will feature the following films that take viewers from rural

Bangladesh to Zambia to war-torn Afghanistan to discover the enduring spirit of

young women.


To Educate A Girl

(11 a.m. PST / 2 p.m. EST)

Filmmakers Frederick Rendina and Oren Rudavsky travel to

Nepal and Uganda, two countries emerging from conflict and struggling with

poverty, to find the answer to one question: What does it take to educate a



Vital Voices: Kakenya

(Noon PST / 3 p.m EST)

Kakenya Ntaiya had a dream: to become a teacher. On the

way to achieving it, she has had to overcome obstacles and make tough

compromises. But, after becoming the first girl from her Maasai village to

attend college, she has opened a path for other young girls achieve their



Smile Pinki

(12:15 p.m. PST / 3:15 p.m. EST)

Winner of the 2009 Academy Award® for Best Documentary

(Short Subject), Smile Pinki tells the uplifting story of two young

children in India born with cleft lips. Thanks to the efforts of Smile Train,

an organization that pays for surgeries to fix clefts, thousands of children

around the world are given a second lease on life every single day.



Shilpi's Story: Proving the Value of Girls in Bangladesh

(12:55 p.m. PST/ 3:55 p.m. EST)

In rural Bangladesh,

sons are considered a blessing, while girls are seen as a burden. They are

often married off young -- ending their education and putting them and their

babies at greater risk of death from complications at birth or during

pregnancy. But what happens when you give girls a voice? Shilpi gained the

confidence to find an alternative -- even though women in her culture are

expected to stay at home. Thanks to support from the Nike Foundation, Save the

Children's Girls' Voices project has given 42,000 girls in Bangladesh a chance

to raise their voices.

The Entrepreneurs

(1 p.m. PST / 4 p.m. EST)

Florence, Esnart, Ng'andwe and Precious all come from

backgrounds of extreme poverty in rural Zambia. They've embarked on five months

of intensive training in leadership and enterprise. With courage and

determination, these young women defy the odds and establish their own

successful businesses, proving that anything is possible.



(1:50 p.m. PST / 4:50 p.m. EST)

This documentary film follows Skateistan,

Afghanistan's first co-educational skateboard school and its founders, and

their daily struggle to break down social, gender and ethnic barriers between

the children of a war-torn country. As the foreign skaters quickly discover,

local custom will only allow girls to skate in public up to the age of 12 -

after that there must be no boys or men around. The solution: build something

new that will provide space to hold all-girl skate classes with experienced

female teachers.


About Link TV

Link TV is a viewer-supported

501(c)(3) organization, distributed nationally via satellite on

channel 375 and DISH Network channel 9410 - reaching more than 33 million US

households. Link TV is a service of KCETLink, the

national independent public transmedia organization formed by the merger

between KCET and Link Media.
Select Link TV programming also

airs on 220 cable outlets, including in New York, Los Angeles and San

Francisco, reaching an additional 22 million homes. Link also streams

much of its content online at LinkTV.org. For complete background information,

program schedule and Internet streaming, go to LinkTV.org.

Follow on Twitter @linktv, and

on Facebook at www.facebook.com/linktv.