Storm Damage: Obama Declares a Major Disaster in 10 Counties

The Santa Ana River in Norco during storms in December 2010

Following the winter storms between mid December and early January, President Barack Obama today declared that a major disaster exists in some areas of California.

By signing a disaster declaration, federal funds will be available to state, tribal, eligible local governments and some nonprofit organizations for emergency work and repair or replacement of infrastructure damaged by flooding and debris and mud flows. Ten counties were included in the order:

  • Inyo

  • Kern

  • Kings

  • Orange

  • Riverside

  • San Bernardino

  • San Diego

  • San Luis Obispo

  • Santa Barbara

  • Tulare

Federal funding will also be available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide, the White House said.

The photo on this post is by Flickr user (Carrie Sloan). It is used under a Creative Commons License.

Story continues below

We are dedicated to providing you with articles like this one. Show your support with a tax-deductible contribution to KCET. After all, public media is meant for the public. It belongs to all of us.

Keep Reading